Blog Introduction

My name is Noah Hartman and I am a rising senior at Elizabethtown College. I am a Business Administration major with a concentration in Management. I am from Lebanon, Pennsylvania and enjoy spending time outdoors either playing lacrosse or spending time with friends.

I decided to take this course to gain extra credits as well as develop some understanding of psychology as a whole. I do not possess any previous knowledge when it comes to psychology. When I hear the word “psychology” I immediately think of the mind and what different factors drive people to think or to act. I believe that chapters 3,8, and 11 will be the most interesting chapters to learn about and could also be some of the most helpful chapters as well. I think that the topic on the Scientific Method, the Classical and Operant Conditioning , and Neuro-Imaging because on the surface these all seem like topics that could be very dry or tedious in nature. Lastly, the question about psychology that I would like answered by the end of the class would be, how well can it be tied into different fields of study?

One thought on “Blog Introduction

  1. Welcome to the course Noah! I think psychology is a great field to be familiar with when you’re going into business. Understanding customers is critical to business success, and from the management angle being able to tailor your methods to your employees and help them navigate challenges and conflict is so important. Psychology integrates really well with a lot of different fields, so much so that it has been called a “hub-science” by some because it connects things like biology and chemistry to things like sociology and public health to history and business (for an example, see https://www.psychologicalscience.org/observer/psychology-is-a-hub-science). I hope to keep the material from being dry, but I know everyone will have topics they don’t connect with. Hopefully you’ll be pleasantly surprised with the topics you’re not excited for!

    Like

Leave a comment