Chapter 1 First Impression



For my research study, I would be interested in finding if there is any correlation between students residing on a college campus, and exhibiting reckless behavior such as binge drinking. I would word my question as the following, “Does residing on a college campus increase the chances of students participating in destructive behaviors, such as binge drinking?”

My hypothesis is that students who live on college campuses are more likely to participate in dangerous behavior.

My procedure would be very straightforward, I would first start by asking students from different colleges to take a simple survey. The survey will be anonymous, but the students will have to include which college or university that they are attending so it will be easier to interpret the results. The survey would also ask the students if they live on campus, live off campus, or commute to their college or university. Lastly, the survey would ask the students how frequently they partake in dangerous activities such as binge drinking. Utilizing the results from the surveys will then help determine whether this hypothesis has some truth behind it, or is completely false.



2 thoughts on “Chapter 1 First Impression

  1. This is a very interesting topic and relates very well to our current state, as we are college students that live (or have lived) on a college campus. I think that this topic could expand to not only college students living on campus, but also students that live off campus and with other people of their age attending college. I think that your hypothesis is very interesting because being on a college campus and around other students of that age is supposed to be one of the more “safer” options for students because they don’t necessarily live alone without any supervision, whereas students that live on their own in houses or apartments have no real “supervision.” I agree with your hypothesis, though because when students are together every single day, it is more likely that they are going to partake in dangerous behavior.
    Your procedure makes sense and would work, though I would possibly add what dangerous activities the students are partaking in because then the results would be more refined and you could then see what kinds of activities they are doing. Also, I think that the age of the participants should be added to the survey because then it would show how many students that are underage are partaking in theses dangerous activities.
    This was an all around interesting post and I enjoyed reading your ideas, great post!

    Like

  2. This is a spectacular idea, and I would love to see the survey carried out. I was interested if there were any experiments done similarly, and could not find any. I did find an article by the Philadelphia Magazine that refutes your hypothesis. It discussed how the University of Pennsylvania is soon requiring students to live on campus during their sophomore year. This idea was recommended by The Task Force on a Safe and Responsible Campus in order to combat underage drinking and rape culture. This strong organization believes that off campus housing is more dangerous. I would also be interested in how the amount or magnitude of risky behavior differs between college students, and those of the same age that are not pursuing a postsecondary education. Also, students may have differing opinions on what constitutes as “risky behavior.” To solve this, I would ask more specific questions like the exact number of drinks consumed in one day. Overall, I believe that this is a great idea, and I would be interested in the outcome of the experiment.

    Sasko, Claire. “Penn Soon Won’t Let Sophomores Live Off Campus.” Philadelphia
    Magazine, 27 Sept. 2018, http://www.phillymag.com/news/2018/09/27/
    penn-sophomore-off-campus/. Accessed 6 June 2019.

    Like

Leave a comment