Chapter 3 First Impression



College students absolutely have some of the worst sleep habits out of almost any group of individuals that you could imagine. Many students will attest to the difficulty of being able to balance a good night’s sleep, completing assignments on time, and keeping a social life. I often find myself deprived of sleep, especially during the school year. However, even when I make it home on summer break, it is extremely difficult to find a way to get back into a normal sleep schedule. Currently I would say that my sleep habits are extremely unhealthy. I often have to wake up fairly early to make sure that I have ample time to get myself ready for work. After I work most of the day, I tend to work on my course work for several hours on end, usually into late hours of night or the earlier hours of morning. Following the completion of my work, I usually enjoy watching TV for a short while to help myself relax and get ready for bed. Utilizing this schedule, it is nearly impossible for me to get around 8 hours of sleep and sometimes I may even struggle to get 6 hours of sleep.

I would say a realistic amount of sleep for myself would be within a range of 6-7 hours of sleep, depending the night. I think some of the ways I would be able to improve my sleeping habits would be to manage my time a bit better so that I will be able to finish my course assignments earlier than usual which would give me more time to rest. I also think that I should attempt to prohibit myself from staying up past a certain time so I will be able to set a sleep schedule for myself, which will also give me more time to sleep.



One thought on “Chapter 3 First Impression

  1. This post is very interesting because as you can see by the example above, even during the summer some people don’t get the proper amount of sleep. I respect the fact that you admitted that you don’t have healthy sleeping habits because a lot of people would just say they have good habits, but sometimes they slip up.
    It could be a good idea for you to utilize what we talked about in lecture in trying to determine how much sleep you need. It may be difficult at first since you have a routine going, but it could be beneficial to you and your sleep habits. Additionally, possibly cutting out that TV time before bed may help you fall asleep faster, which could lead to more sleep cycles and better sleep habits. However, I’m not entirely sure if because that’s a habit that your body has adjusted to it and takes that light into account when trying to fall asleep, or if it would still make a difference.

    Like

Leave a comment